What to say when you meet a teacher or a teacher trainee

From experience to meaning...

This morning I wrote a little piece in Dutch that has been read and shared a lot the past few hours. I’ll try to translate it for this blog too.

The reason I wrote this post is because I recognized a tone about teachers I know all to well in the typical ‘back to school’-news coverage. Even worse: I know the effect of this tone on my students who will be teachers soon.

In the meantime the teacher shortage is a global phenomenon…

So that’s why I wanted to write something positive, as a kind of alternative: what to say when you meet a teacher or a teacher trainee:

Thank you for teaching our kids, we really need you.

And if you have some extra time to spare, maybe you can add this:

I know you sometimes get the question if you couldn’t find anything better,
while teaching is one of the greatest jobs…

View original post 195 more words

Comments Off on What to say when you meet a teacher or a teacher trainee

Filed under personal

Comments are closed.