The merits of the academic disciplines

Clio et cetera

Following discussions last week and over the weekend, I’ve decided to write a few posts setting out in more detail the philosophy that underpins my approach to the secondary school curriculum. In part these posts are a response to some of the criticism I have had levelled at me regarding my views, but I hope that, together, the posts will work as a coherent whole.

In this post I am going to argue for why academic disciplines are, in their own right, worthwhile things that ought to be at the heart of the secondary school curriculum. In my next post I shall set out the arguments that have been put to me for why vocational subjects have their place on the secondary school curriculum, and I shall set out to refute those arguments. In the final post, I intend to build on my prior post on planning a curriculum to…

View original post 770 more words

Comments Off on The merits of the academic disciplines

Filed under personal

Comments are closed.