Dual Coding in the Classroom

The Effortful Educator

Let me begin by saying that dual coding, or at least my initial understanding of this learning strategy, is completely foreign to me.  I am the antithesis of creative.  While others were playing with action figures and creating distant galaxies to be conquered in their mind, I was outside playing some sport.  Add to this my horrible drawing skills.  Today, after living 33 years on this planet, I still am unable to write on my board in a manner allowing all students comprehension.  My 5 year old son, Eli, has mastered the art of drawing people, rockets, and dinosaurs; I’d settle for being able to draw a really cool stick person. 

Best rocket ever drawn by a 5 year old 🙂

97afd6fe-3e1c-4f9b-9a63-67031d91a166

All-in-all, I don’t fancy myself a learner ready to dive into dual coding as my go-to learning strategy.  However, I certainly know that we’re not all the same learner…

View original post 645 more words

Comments Off on Dual Coding in the Classroom

Filed under personal

Comments are closed.