Teaching to the Top: Attitudes and strategies for delivering real challenge.

teacherhead

Ladder.jpg Image Lenovo.com

Teaching to top has been a long-standing principle of effective teaching from my perspective.  One of my early blogs was ‘Gifted and Talented Provision: A Total Philosophy‘ and it remains one of the topics I am asked to talk about most often in CPD sessions.  I no longer think that Gifted and Talented is a helpful label – it never was – but the principles are the same.  I’ve also covered this topic The Anatomy of High Expectations.

As I’ve said previously, I firmly believe that too many students are systematically underchallenged at school, especially in the years furthest away from high-stakes tests.  I also think that, if you crack this, you crack most other things too; the bar is raised for everyone.  This blog is based on the CPD I usually deliver on this topic.

The secret to doing this well is to think about…

View original post 1,983 more words

Comments Off on Teaching to the Top: Attitudes and strategies for delivering real challenge.

May 30, 2017 · 6:22 am

Comments are closed.